Both Chelsea FC and Chelsea Women FC have dominated the shortlists for the 2020 PFA Awards.

Tammy Abraham and Mason Mount have both been nominated for the prestigious PFA Young Player of the Year Award. Both have had impressive debut seasons in the First Team, coming back from loans at Aston Villa and Derby County respectively. This award has been previously won by former Blues Eden Hazard (2013/14) and Scott Parker (2003/4). Raheem Sterling is the current holder.

Five players from the WSL and Conti Cup Champions Chelsea Women are nominated for PFA Awards. Midfielder Erin Cuthbert has been shortlisted for the Young Player of the Year Award, scoring twice and assisting four in the WSL. Cuthbert would be the first winner of the award playing at Chelsea Women.

Chelsea Women have a staggering four nominees for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year Award! Bethany England, Sophie Ingle, Guro Reiten and Ji are all in contention. This award is decided by a vote amongst members of the PFA, which represents all professional players in the game. Chelsea Women have better history in this category, with both Fran Kirby (2017/18) and Ji So-Yun (2014/15) winning these awards playing at Kingsmeadow.

The PFA Awards will take place on Tuesday 8th September, and will be broadcast on their social channels from 7pm (UK).

All Things Chelsea would like to wish all Chelsea nominees the best of luck for Tuesday!

Who do you think will win each category of the PFA Awards? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s